The Cubit
The CubitIt all began in 2007 with a thumb in the air. A young hitchhiker, just trying to make it home after dropping out of college, accepts a ride from a man who would change his life and the world’s future.

The driver is Christopher Cower. The Cubit, which he took from its protected altar, hums with the hidden power to change those who might come in contact with it…to change them into everything bad, everything evil—the dark side of humanity. After all, that’s why the simple-looking crate had been guarded for centuries. It had changed the Maya, the Anasazi, and now, because of Cower, it would control a much larger population…a world set for the great Reckoning in the final month of 2012.

The Cubit speaks to the growing influence that Evil has on this Earth. It’s crazy out there. Good people have turned bad. Some things just don’t make sense anymore. It’s because those in power are not acting in your best interests. After all, they’ve been cubited. And you can’t tell the difference between what they were and what they’ve become.

It’s all a part of the plan—one created before man existed.

The Cubit introduces you to the heroes and heroines, to innocence and ignorance, to faith, fear and fortitude and it will take all of the above to survive the End of Days, one predicted by Revelation, the Hopi, the Ancient Maya and the Book of the Djed.

The Djed
The DjedWhat is a Creation Dagger? What is foretold in the Book of the Djed? What do Hitler and Napoleon and Manson have to do with Daykeepers? What happened to the Ancient Maya? The Anasazi?

In The Djed, the Trilogy moves from Port Aransas, Texas to Sedona, Arizona where ancient Native American tribes had kept the Cubit safe from the world for centuries. Cower took it from this sacred red rock land and now the survivors of Hurricane Antiago want to know why. What they find will change the way they understand faith and religion and science. What they find will lead them to Mexico, to the great city of Chichen Itza where the Observatory holds the secret, the salvation and death.

But it is at Tulum where, like the ancient Maya, the young Daykeeper will make his stand, find the Djed and fight off the retched Mexican Los Zetas, a gang of mercenary drug dealers all hyped up on heroin and the power of the Cubit.

0-TimeWhy oh why did I decide to spread the third volume out into three pieces, creating a trilogy itself?
Why indeed.

One reason for the three-part third volume came about only after I started to write it in the summer of 2010. In May, a unique idea surfaced. Could I write these parts (at least the first two) as self-contained novelettes that did not necessitate the reader having consumed either of the first two books? Could I write it in a way that moved the story forward from the end of The Djed for my dedicated readers while providing an enticement for others to begin the Trilogy? This was a new challenge for me as a novelist so, of course, I accepted it.

0-Time: PUSH* can, indeed, be read and enjoyed without prior knowledge of the Trilogy’s main characters, plot, settings, revelations, etc. It introduces a new character to the epic who will make a lot of sense to those readers already involved, but who can also stand by himself in this (his) self-contained adventure.

However, in all of this reconfiguration of the story pieces, something frightening transpired. You see, there is this very horrible character lurking in the background of the Trilogy who is never really revealed in Antichrist flavor. Breaking the third volume into three pieces allows me to dive into this character head first, making the next part, 0-Time: Predicate, a truly horrific journey into the mind of absolute Evil. This frightens me because I am reminded of the consequences of sinking the mind into the portrayal of Evil to such an extent that realism is the result.

I am reminded of the short life of Heath Ledger.

And I am reminded that Evil as an actor can become...oh so real.

|   ISBN: 978-0-9825129-7-5   |   Published by P.T. William Publishing Co |
The Complete 2012 Trilogy

Introduction to the 2012 Trilogy (2008)


Ever since the print publication of the first book in The 2012 Trilogy, The Cubit, I have been asked numerous times if I know how the world is going to end. I always answer Of course. Don’t you?

It ends the way it began, I say. With a Big Bang. With the galactic mouth opening up and spewing forth any number of immortal humanoids. With a snake and a tree and an apple. Nobody I tell this to believes such nonsense. They want me to tell them the truth.

Except, really, that’s not what The 2012 Trilogy (Journey of the Daggers) is all about. It’s not about truth. It’s about antithesis. And, therefore, I promise not to rain great chunks of earth or sky or ocean onto the heads of my characters by story’s end. I promise that I will not crush our great planet in one fell swoop that cheats the intelligence or copies cardboard climaxes so often found in doomsday adventures. My Trilogy does not end with a magnificent techno-ark built by clandestine scientists who will use it to ride the wave of another great flood to a moon or planet or through some hyper-dimensional space rip. I can’t promise you that there will not be fire and brimstone - every apocalyptic story has had a little bit of that in it - but I can promise that you will not be cheated. And this is because the Trilogy is about people…the good ones and the bad. Antithesis.

With this three volume adventure, thriller, horror, sci-fi, fantasy (it’s been categorized in different ways by different readers which thrills me to no end) you will meet common people thrust into uncommon circumstances. The date, December 21, 2012, looms as the Trilogy’s forced moment of climax, not as the end unto itself that almost all End of Days stories tend to promote. If you are looking for verification that Jesus or Muhammad or Buddha will materialize and save the hapless humans on this date, I cannot help you. If you want to get an inkling as to why humans even think this way, take the journey that the Trilogy offers, decide for yourself, live with the characters. You are any one of them and all of them:

You are the college dropout, the surfer and the non-believer—if it can’t be categorized and statistically rendered then it isn’t real. You are the victim of an adulterant, of psychological spousal abuse, a soft person whose lost love for life forces only one, singular belief: that paradise does exist but only in the form of sandy beaches and crashing waves. You are one who has lived a hundred years in the body of a fifty-year-old, a self-loathing beggar whose one dark secret has driven him to the brink of financial and spiritual ruin. You are young and lost and trying to find your way through the blight of bad jobs, bad bosses and just plain bad timing. You are an ex-marine, a video journalist, a desert tour guide, a puppet. Yes, a puppet. Strings attached. Fate determined. Manipulated. Lied to…

But hopeful. You can’t give up. Especially since you’ve found out the truth. Not because Peter Galarneau Jr. has made it a plot point but because, like the Trilogy’s characters, you have found the dark side, you have seen the cubits not only in battle but also in yourself and you have fought them with the weapons provided to you by centuries of others so that you may live.

You are Billy, Joel, Stephanie, Janine, Marcy, John, Cooper and Michael. And you are a little bit of Richard Manson as well. We all are to some degree. Evil.

How will the world end? Like it began. With humankind.